Origin of the name Terrence

A masculine name meaning “soft” or “smooth”.

Write about your first name: its meaning, significance, etymology, etc.
My name is Terrence. Not a popular name now, but had popularity in the late 1990s. My parents share the story tat my dad wanted to name me, Terentius Affir. TA was a poet from Ethiopia working in Rome in 159 BC. My parents agreed on Terrence Edward. The name Terence (with one r) is considered a masculine name of Latin origin. The name means “soft” or “smooth”.
According to Emily Bagg, a content writer featured in the Bump relates that some famous namesakes include Terrence Stamp, and Steven McQueen’s first name is Terrence. This list includes Terrence Parkin who is a decorated deaf swimmer from South Africa.
I think of actor Terrence (two “r’s”) Howard from Empire.

Anyway. I feel that I am sharing those namesakes with great people. The Terrence’s of the world are in great company.

Leave a comment